Uncategorized

how i met your father (i wish)

Went for another company intro session today. This time it was at Omotesando! Fun fun place. I especially love this place because of its wide sidewalks. It’s kinda like Ginza but with less tourists and more accessible shops hehe. Anyway the intro session went quite well but I made it just in time ぎりぎりセーフ or I might’ve been 1 minute late actually yeah I think by the time I took my seat it was definitely at least 3:01pm.

The reason I was late though was because I was held up at the bank settling some issues with the money my mum TT-ed me about 2 weeks ago. By the time I finished it was already 2:20 so I only managed to reach Omotesando at 2:52 and the session was at 3. Lost a minute or two for losing my bearings when I got out of the station and when I was sure of the direction in which I had to go, I ran as fast as any person in heels and a skirt which annoyingly rides up could run.

And that was when I bumped into coffee man. SPLASH his freshly brewed coffee spills all over the road. I was like CRAP (think I might’ve said it out loud) and started apologizing and offering to pay for a new cup but he so very nicely said “大丈夫ですよ” ie ITS OK and i asked again just to be sure and when he said yes I just ran on. He probably knew that I’m a 就活生 ie a university student doing job-hunting judging  from my suit and all.

In hindsight, it was really really nice of him and the whole situation would’ve been a romantic first encounter if I hadn’t been rushing like mad. But then again I wouldn’t have crashed into him in the first place if I WASN’T rushing, I guess.

Having said that, Hitomi (who’s visiting from Gifu again and already asleep in my bed atm) told me that any normal and generally nice person would probably NOT make a person who’s obviously in a desperate rush to pay for a new cup of coffee in that scenario. A reasonable, albeit a little unromantic point.

So that’s my interesting incident of the day and here are pictures from my izakaya dinner with Hitomi. The place was 鳥義(とりよし)near the A3 exit of Omotesando station.

Grated radish and okra and the white brain-material-looking thing is 白子 (translated to “soft roe”), some kind of unborn fish that the Japanese are so fond of. The texture was creamy and apparently that’s the best part but that, combined with the dubious appearance, was all too much for me so I had to pass after my first bite. The shiso leaf and seaweed were good though lols.

Salad DRENCHED in french dressing. Eck.

明太子ポテトチーズ焼き。Baked potatoes with mentaiko (another kind of fish roe??) and LOADS of cheese. You can never go wrong with anything involving cheese and potatoes. 明太子、ポテト、チーズという組み合わせだと絶対はずれがないよ。

We also shared a stick of yakitori and a bowl of clams cooked in wine.

Tiramisu in a cup at a cafe in Harajuku Takeshita Street. I forgot to take down the name again! and it’s my second time here! Sweets really do mess up my focus.

Leave a comment